There’s Scum and Then There’s This Guy I Know

Mugi Comment:

This month I’m focusing on my writing group’s recently released anthology, 18. In addition to the interviews I’m doing with some of the collection’s authors, I’m also sharing my thoughts about the individual works and writers in the manuscript.

Low Life: Allan Walsh

Allan’s a fantasy writer. His characters cast spells, talk in high concept and trek through endless woods. Sometimes, when the moon is high and the warlocks are out, they sit in taverns and grumble about the meaning of existence. Yes, they’ve got grit and people lose limbs, but it’s fantasy, right? There are rules.

So when Low Life dropped, a straight-up horror tale, in the critique folder, I had to check the name twice. Allan wrote this? Allan wrote a narrative that scared the crap out of me and made me rethink everything I knew about damnation and hell?

Surely not.

Yet, he did, and produced a twisted tale of the highest regard. There’s lost love, an ‘oh snap’ ending and a story structure that pushes your mind to its upper limits.

I could go on, I could teach a class on this, but what’s the point? The source is always better. And, you know what? The source is available right now on Amazon. It’s free on the days we can make it, but often our corporate masters ensure it is 99 cents. Ready to be scared and challenged? 18 and Low Life are waiting.

Share Your Tale

