Fire Burns and Tails Whip

Mugi Comment:

This month I’m focusing on my writing group’s recently released anthology, 18. In addition to the interviews I’m doing with some of the collection’s authors, I’m also sharing my thoughts about the individual works and writers in the manuscript.

The Black Queen: Melanie Bird

I’m a sucker for forbidden love stories. Yes, I’m a guy. 100% male in all the right (or wrong) ways, but I can’t help it. Two lovers trapped in rigid societal roles while exchanging sly glances and dreaming of freedom. How can you not get drawn in especially if there’s an evil mother involved?

Now, imagine that type of story with dragons. Yeah? Yeah? I know. Where can we sign up, right?

Melanie knows her fantasy and she knows how to pull your heartstrings and make you whoop at all the right places. Basically, she knows how to write the pants off these types of tales and has a finishing line that’ll have you asking, “So when’s the novel going to be released, huh? Huh? Huhuhuhuhuhuh?”

Don’t wait, start your addiction to The Visiting Wind today by grabbing your short-story dose from Amazon. The anthology, 18, is free on the days when the planets align, and the rest of the month is priced at 99 cents. (Almost akin to a fire sale.)

So, find the dollar and let’s go have a cry together about these star-crossed lovers.

Share Your Tale

