The Children are All Alone

Mugi Comment:

This month I’m focusing on my writing group’s recently released anthology, 18. In addition to the interviews I’m doing with some of the collection’s authors, I’m also sharing my thoughts about the individual works and writers in the manuscript.

18 Little Beds: Laura Brodnik

You ever laid on your bed at night and heard a noise? Not a clichéd ‘thump’ or ‘creak’ but something…moving? Maybe it was the sheets sliding across the floor because of the fan in summer, or your cat that you didn’t know was there having breathing difficulties, but you heard it. The lights were out, the windows closed and the door swinging, banging against the frame.

Then there was a shuffle or a slide and you couldn’t sleep even though you were an adult? I know that feeling. The sweat running down my face as my knuckles grew whiter and my wife’s snores louder. Another shuffle, a snort and something…something was coming for me.

Imagine a story that takes you to this place. A story that wraps you in its tentacles, and the suckers of a nightmare-octopus try to tell you to sleep, sleep my dear. 18 Little Beds is that story.

I say all this not as a favour, but simply as a warning because our anthology 18 is free five days a month and you might have accidentally downloaded it. You might’ve lost hours of rest after accessing it from Amazon. Hell, just because it’s in the Kindle Select program, you might’ve even shared it with your friends.

Maybe that’s what you need to do? Share it? So when you are lying awake imagining the monster coming, you can call them and talk about your imminent death? Probably not the worst idea you’ve read today. Maybe something worth considering before your body is left as nothing more than a hollow husk of twittering nerves and eye spasms.

Share Your Tale

